Cottage City

Trip Stop: 

The hidden city within Oak Bluffs. In the summer in 1835 Methodists began coming to the island to hold religious revival meetings. They pitched their tents under a large grove of oaks in what is now Trinity Park and established the Martha’s Vineyard Camp Meeting. Gradually these tents were replaced with small Victorian-style cottages, which became known as “Gingerbread Cottages” because of their fanciful bright colors and ornate moldings. By 1880, 315 cottages had been built in a circular pattern around the original meeting area. A permanent structure called the Tabernacle, with seating for over 3,000 people, was built in the center to allow camp meetings to take place regardless of the weather. The town was incorporated as Cottage City.